Announcement: Change of Venue

This week of September 30th marks my last week at IBM, and I couldn’t be more excited to be moving on to the next phase of my career by joining a great team at Facebook! Yes, yes, I am bringing with me my maintainership of both Linux-kernel RCU and the Linux-kernel memory model, my editing of “Is Parallel Programming Hard, And, If So, What Can You Do About It?”, and other similar items, just in case you were wondering. 😉

Of course, it is only appropriate for me to express my gratitude and appreciation for the many wonderful colleagues at IBM, before that at Sequent, and more recently at Red Hat. Together with others in the various communities, we in our own modest way have changed the world several times over. It was a great honor and privilege to have worked with you, and I expect and hope that our path will cross again. For those in the Linux-kernel and C/C++ standards communities, our paths will continue to run quite closely, and I look forward to continued productive and enjoyable collaborations.

I also have every reason to believe that IBM will continue to be a valuable and essential part of the computing industry as it continues through its second century, especially given the recent addition of Red Hat to the IBM family.

But all that aside, I am eagerly looking forward to starting Facebook bootcamp next week. Which is said to involve one of those newfangled smartphones. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.